The Red Ring of Death

5 05 2009

Last night I sat down for a little killing and a lot of dying – Yes, it was going to be an evening of Halo 3.  Good times, good friends and more than a little smacktalking.  Just what I needed since I couldn’t go to Judo with the bad shoulder.

After dinner, I settled down on the couch, hit the “Play XBOX” on the universal remote and then it happened.

3 little segments of LED’s forming a beautiful arc, almost a Halo – ironically enough.  My dear XBox 360 that has been with me for 3 years of hard core gaming and thousands of games of H3 had the “Red Ring of Death” 😦

I called MS and they have arranged a shipping label for me.  The fix is all free!  It wasn’t really a matter of “IF” I would get the red ring, but rather “when” Shoddy manufacturing to get a product out the door before Sony… It worked, but one heck of a warranty division now!  Today it goes off to XBox heaven.  Hopefully they’ll ship back one that doesn’t also make coasters out of my game discs.   

A small piece of me died with Boxy, and I’m not sure what I’ll do with all that time on my hands now.  Of course there’s always “REAL LIFE”, but I’ve worked hard to avoid that until now and am pretty sure I can do that during the next 3 or so weeks.

Alas, time to figure out what the bright burning ball in the sky is all about 😉

 

R.I.P. Boxy

 

Technorati Tags: ,
Actions

Information

3 responses

5 05 2009
Michael

Has MS fixed this problem on the new X-Box? I was thinking of buying one, BUT… I fear the RRoD

5 05 2009
dragonspeed

I don’t know if it’s been fixed or not. I like the games, so I buy the console. This one lasted just 1 week short of RRoD warranty expiration, so timing was pretty good.

3 06 2009
Edougherty

Microsoft actually doesn’t fix your machine. They replace it. So if you run into the rrod again with the one they send back to you and your warranty runs out I’d highly recommend sending it to The Running Box. I heard about them from a friend so I sent them my xbox when it went red and they had it back to me within the week working perfect! They have a website therunningbox.com and they really know what they’re doing. The guy explained everything they do to fix it and they have a 90 day warranty. (3 weeks I’ve had it back and so far so good). Just fyi in case it happens to you again or it happens to someone else you know. These guys do a good job.

Leave a Reply

