Steveston Judo – February 21, 2009

2 03 2009

Sorry Folks,  I’ve been out of blogging action for a bit.  Last Monday I started feeling like a train hit me and the flu that took a hold of me didn’t really let go until Saturday.   It was a rough ride, but I’m back and better.

Just before feeling like someone had used me for an Olympic class Uke, I managed to finish processing my pictures from the Steveston Judo Tournament held on February 21, 2009.   The tournament is a senior only tournament and as such moves along a bit faster than the ones that include juniors and juveniles.  It started around 1000 and ended quite nicely around 1630.  There was a small contingent of Japanese competitors, but they fought no less fiercely than had there been 20 of them.  There was some great Judo to see and I managed to catch some good action!

 

 

The complete Galleries can be seen in two parts:

Steveston Judo Tournament Part 1

Steveston Judo Tournament Part 2

(If you visit the links, please check out the Google ads for him… he’s giving me the space and bandwidth free – THANKS!)

The photos were shot with the Canon 50D using the 70-200 2.8IS lens.  ISO varied up to 3200 at times.  The EXIF is still embedded in the large photos so that you can see the tech stats.  I shot both JPG and RAW and tried processing the RAW shots, but couldn’t get as good a shot as the camera had at JPG, so I took the JPGs and ran them through lightroom to “punch them up” a bit and was really happy with the result.

A GREAT day of Judo and Judo photography.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

