A tale of two dogs, pepper spray and a one legged woman

23 12 2008

Only in East Vancouver!

Yesterday at lunch, I was walking back to work from the restaurant and my co-worker and I passed a man and his dog out in front of his apartment block.  The young german shepherd seemed to be enjoying the snow.  We commented that his dog really seemed to love the winter snow.

About 40 feet away we passed a woman clearing the snow from her car. Her dog was around her.   We noticed the dog started running toward the young shepherd.  The woman called her dog back a number of times but dogs will be dogs…  Next there was some barking and some growling…  Things deteriorated. 

The second dog clamped down on the shepherd and the owner of the shepherd was trying to drag his dog back into the apartment.  He was cursing and laying the boots to the other dog.  We had passed the scene a bit by now but had stopped when we heard the noises.  We noticed that the second dog was a pit bull and was not planning on releasing from this other dog’s leg. 

The man’s girlfriend handed him some pepper spray (who would have pepper spray handy like that you ask? – East Van residents, I guess) and he started spraying the pit bull.  No effect.  He wasn’t letting go.  They have a long genetic line telling them to “HOLD ON!”   The woman started to head over from the car to the dogs and we notice that she’s on crutches and only has one leg.  She’s “running” as fast as she can in the foot of fresh snow, and wipes out about 10 feet short of the action.

I decided that I should help.  Things had deteriorated severely by now.  I ran over to help with the dogs.   The fallen woman had been using crutches so I grabbed one of her crutches and gave the dog a few solid whacks to the throat to try and induce a cough reflex.  The shepherd owner was still trying to get his dog in the apartment while peppering the pit bull (note… they don’t care about pepper spray) At the threshold of the apartment, I managed to jam the pit bull’s neck between the door frame and the crutch.  He let go of the other dog long enough for the other dog owner to get his dog into the building.  With the crutch and our feet, we managed to get the pit bull out of the building.  The shepherd owner is laying loose a string of curse words aimed at the dog, the woman… He was not happy.(justifiably so)  He didn’t seem to be overly concerned about the one legged woman on the ground in the snow.  Her dog having happily trotted off to try and wipe the pepper spray off seemed to have forgotten the whole incident even happened.

With pepper spray residue on my hands, I got the woman back her crutch, made sure she was alright and told her that she had better have much better control of her dog in the future.  I didn’t even bother to listen to her answer.  I wanted no more part of this whole mess.  My friend and I decided we had best be on our way before the shepherd owner decided to come back out with something more lethal than pepper spray. 

Definitely an eventful walk back to work from lunch.

Later that afternoon, after having washed my hands 5 or 6 times already,  I rubbed my eye as it was itchy.  Now I know what pepper spray in your eyes feels like!!!  Thank God I work in a lab… It was right over to the eyewash station and a LONG LONG rinse.  The pepper residue stays on you for a LONG time.  When I got home and showered that evening, I could STILL feel the burn where the pepper spray had been on the back of my hands.  Not nice.  (Note to self – Don’t piss off a cop either… they carry pepper spray as well!)

That was my day yesterday.. how was yours? 🙂

Technorati Tags: , ,
Actions

Information

4 responses

25 12 2008
Christine Chu

You are such a brave man.

25 12 2008
dragonspeed

Or foolish… Whatever the case it seemed the right thing to do.

2 06 2012
alan

that was funny

21 10 2012
jimrukas

I am surprised the pepper spray didn’t do the trick.

Leave a Reply

