Spending Time in China continued

21 09 2008

After a tortuous night, Monday morning gratefully arrived.  I had woken up at around 0300 and realized that I didn’t feel so great.  Cold sweats, nausea – It seems that something in that curry didn’t agree with me.  The four hours between 0300 and 0700 were punctuated by trying to keep my temperature regulated, trying to make sure I was close enough to the washroom and trying to sleep. In short, I had been to hell. Thankfully by 0800 I was ready to go, albeit a bit weak-legged.  I decided that I desperately needed some breakfast… some congee perhaps.

We went down for breakfast and there wasn’t much being offered.  We chose some beef noodles (Lanzhou is ALL over the beef noodle thing) and some steamed bread twists.  I only ate a bit.

Our colleague came to get us at 0900 and we took a taxi to the office. We got to the office and started unpacking various bits and got to our tasks.  Things looked like they were going to go pretty well.  Lunch was one of the first signs that it could be a long visit.  We had gone to a restaurant near the office and it was PACKED.  There were 3 large ( >10 ) tables and others.  They squeezed us in and my seat was milk crate – Oi Vey!  The smoke was so thick you could taste it in every breath.  I had forgotten that you could smoke anywhere, anytime in China.  They REALLY need to work on that.  We had a meal of fish (with chillis), Potato slices (with chillis), Chinese cabbage (with chillis) and I think something else (with chillis – do you see the trend?)  Way too much food ordered.  We took some back with the idea that we could reheat it at the office if hungry later.

Other than the fact that I basically smoked about a dozen cigarettes sitting in the restaurant, lunch was good (and SPICY).  The rest of the day went pretty unremarkably (wrong outlet for UPS etc, but nothing life shattering)

I took a few pictures on the way home and we went to the Chinese restaurant for dinner this time.  The food was more along the lines of what I am accustomed to in Vancouver. I mean… in the middle of China are you going to go looking for a good hamburger or some serious Chinese food?

That’s all for Monday… perhaps I’ll keep getting caught up as I go along.

Thanks for reading!

Actions

Information

7 responses

22 09 2008
christine

Good picture!

29 09 2008
christine

Sorry to hear that you were sick. Everything OK now???

29 09 2008
dragonspeed

ALas… I have a cold. 😦

Nothing like a cold and Jetlag to really make sleeping impossible when you get home.

All that being said – I DID have a good trip, and met some really nice colleagues in an area of China that I wouldn’t have had the chance to visit otherwise.

29 09 2008
christine

Where are you now? China or Canada. I read that you had some curry on the night you arrived and you felt so sick that night…right?

29 09 2008
dragonspeed

I’m back home happily in Vancouver now. That first night was just a disagreement with the local food…. Some extra time on the “throne” was all that was needed to deal with that.

Now I have a cold though, probably from too much beer, smoke and karaoke 😉

29 09 2008
christine

Karaoke in China??? You are those kind of tourist that explore everthing……Ha…including singing in China!!! Is it 6 am in Vancouver..you should get more sleep!

29 09 2008
dragonspeed

Jet Lag 😦

Leave a Reply

