Some Pictures from Lanzhou

16 09 2008

I’m in Lanzhou China for work for a couple of weeks.  It’s a very interesting city.

 

Here are some pics from my first couple of days in town:

The view from my hotel room

Chilies drying on the line near where I work

I’m always fascinated by the creative ways people find to transport things here

Some delicious sichuan style pork ribs that we had for lunch at a local restaurant

My colleague, me and the restaurant owner
   

The last picture has an interesting story…  We came into the restaurant to eat lunch and since the owner saw me with my camera, he wanted a picture with us… what the heck…sure.  We took the picture and then continued with lunch.  After lunch I went to pay the bill and he indicates that there is no charge…  So, I guess my photography skills are paying off finally 🙂

Cheers from Lanzhou!

Actions

Information

5 responses

18 09 2008
christine

Very good picture…free lunch???? You are very lucky

18 09 2008
dragonspeed

Yeah! It was pretty crazy. People around here (I’m about 30 minutes out of downtown Lanzhou) are very open about the fact that they are fascinated at your presence. It gets a bit uncomfortable sometimes, but I just pretend to myself that I’m a movie star – like a white Jackie Chan or something 🙂

18 09 2008
TEresa Plesnerova

wickid!!! that is a nice foto… and how awesome of the owner… with yer Judo skillz u COULD be a white Jackie CHan… ha ha ha! btw how was the flight up?

18 09 2008
dragonspeed

The flight to PEK was long, but AC has slightly roomier seats than Cathay, for example, so it was comfortable. From PEK to LHW we had a tonne of turbulence! We were strapped in for about 90% of the flight. Also China Eastern operates some pretty densely packed planes… We had to keep our legs swung out into the aisle in order to NOT suffer…

Cheers!

19 09 2008
christine

How is your day? Any surprise…. are you still Jackie Chan in the street today? Any plan for the weekend.

Leave a Reply

