Lanzhou, China

14 07 2008

My work is sending me to Lanzhou China in a couple of weeks.  I’ve never been there, but have been reading up what I can.  If any of you gentle readers have "been there, done that, bought the T-shirt" I’d appreciate any suggestions you might have for things to do, things to watch out for, and the good, the bad and the ugly.

I’m going to be bringing my camera with me.  Do you think I risk losing my 100-400 (to theft) if bring it with me?

I’m a little concerned because the city is so much further north that my little Cantonese knowledge will be useless.  It’s going to be a LOT of hand waving and pointing.  I don’t like not being able to communicate.

Thoughts and ideas welcomed!

 

Technorati Tags: , ,
Actions

Information

2 responses

25 07 2008
nursarahlam

I have never been there but I have a lot of friends telling me that when you have reached there, you are at risk of losing everything you own but it depends on how you keep your things, how alert are you about the people around you and just make sure you don’t carry too much of cash, don’t flash the cash in public, don’t show off everything you have, you can bring the camera after all you need to capture a few pics, always be alert, don’t leave anything precious at the hotel and lastly, when you want to shop for souvenirs, don’t get cheated on the price or the products.

The possibilities are:

1. The Chinese in China might charge you a much higher price for something cheap and claim that it is precious or something.

2. The Chinese in China might change the product you have chosen without you knowing into something low quality, the same thing but they change it while they are packing, so watch when they pack and ask if you are curious.

25 07 2008
dragonspeed

Thanks for your comment!

It turns out that I won’t be going until September now 😦 I have been to China before (Guangzhou, Zhongsan) and certainly know to be careful about displaying valuables.

Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

