Adaptec 1430SA and Vista – Success!

8 08 2007

I know that many have read my problem I was having with my Adaptec 1430SA card and Vista Ultimate… I have solved the problem (FINALLY!) with NO help from Adaptec’s tech support link on their website 😦

Don’t use the drivers on Adaptec’s site.  BSOD!  0x000000F7 ( I think)  Death in short.

Use the drivers that come on the CD. They are an older rev (1.4.11949.0) vs. the ones on the website (1.4.11955.0)!!!

After that, I was able to configure my 2 disk RAID 1 and get it up and happy… What a long night last night was 😦

 

Technorati Tags: , , , ,
Actions

Information

2 responses

1 10 2007
Belew

So hows the performance of the controller? I’m thinking about getting one for a 4 drive RAID 0. As its a complete pain to get a legacy nvidia raid to work with vista ultimate. Definately good info on the drivers too many nights spent getting vista to install Korean language MUI.

Mike

1 10 2007
dragonspeed

It seems to do well. I’d have to say that it appears to perform better than the onboard RAID that Intel has. On top of that, the management app for the Intel RAID sucks. With the cache on the controller the disks DEFINITELY seem quieter. Of course I can only speak from the point of view of RAID1.

I’m glad the driver help worked. At least it saved SOMEBODY from suffering like me 😉

Leave a Reply

