Jeff Atwood found an interesting gem…

20 06 2005

Brad Wardell, founder of Stardock Systems, wrote a blog entry back in July 2004, which Jeff Atwood has found and linked.

An excellent part about how passion will carry you through the tough parts:

In 1992, OS/2 came out and I felt I could get a competitive advantage by pre-loading OS/2 onto the computers I sold. I became quite familiar with OS/2. In early 1993, I thought there would be demand for an OS/2 video game. The only problem was that I didn’t know how to program. So I bought a book called “Teach yourself C in 21 days” and a book called “OS/2 Presentation Manager Programming”. With those two books I programmed Galactic Civilizations. Anyone who ever played the game and also knows programming can verify that only the techniques in OS/2 PM programming are in that game. What that meant is that all the “graphics” were merely iconic windows, not real images because OS/2 PM programming didn’t include chapters on how to do graphics programming and I couldn’t afford any more books.

So, if you want to do it.  Do it!  don’t sit back and say “I wish I could have done that” later.   Grab the bull by the horns, and hold on for the ride!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

