I’m in Mexico!

18 09 2004

Via Dallas, I have arrived in Monterrey.   

I woke up at 0330, to catch a taxi to YVR.  The cab came at 0415, and picked me up in the pouring rain.  What a downpour.  There were practically lakes all over the roads.  I got to the airport at 0500, and checked in at the counter.  Then, it was through customs, and onto waiting for almost 2 hours to get on the plane.  When it was time to get on , the good folks at American took it in their minds to give us a “Bistro Meal”.  I don’t know what bistro these guys ever ate at, but usually MY bistros would have more than just 2 little boxes of raisins, a sample of a granola bar, and a small yogurt.  Yeesh.  4 hours later, I arrived in Dallas, and had 30 minutes to scoot to the other boarding lounge for the flight to Monterrey, in some serious heat and humidity.  Suddenly  the world was Spanish!  Aggh.  

I arrived in Monterrey around 1600 local time, and the heat and humidity got WORSE!  Hmmm.  When I came through the international arrivals gate, I couldn’t find Cristobal.  I waited for what seemed like an eternity (things do, when you’re in a foreign country for the first time – I think)  Doreen greeted me, much to my surprise.  It was nice to be able to catch up with her as to what’s been going on here.

We went to check out the local lab, and it looks like there will be lots of work while I’m here.

After that, we went to the hotel, where I checked in, showered, and then went to dinner with Doreen at the hotel restaurant.   I had some Mexican dinner of sorts.  They’re into meat down here.  Good!  I had a local beer (Tintos, I think) I think it was an ale.  Of course, after having been travelling for 12+ hours on only that “Bistro” meal, I was a bit lacking in energy, and it didn’t take much to wear me out, so after we finished dinner, I headed up to my room and called Irene.  I missed her, but she called back around 2200.  It was not long after that that I discovered the wireless connection, and hence my blog entry. 

Tomorrow holds more fun.  It’ll be good to face the world refreshed and ready to go again! 

Later – Pictures now available

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

