Cheating Chernobyl – Interview with an engineer that was there.

24 08 2004

New Scientist has an article about Alexander Yuvchenko, at the time a 24 year old engineer, who was at work the night that Chernobyl exploded.  He has lived, and mananged to “Cheat Chernobyl”.  From the story:

The place where I was told he’d been standing was in ruins. The huge turbines were still standing, but everything around them was rubble. He must have been buried under that. From where I stood I could see a huge beam of projected light flooding up into infinity from the reactor. It was like a laser light, caused by the ionisation of the air. It was light-bluish, and it was very beautiful. I watched it for several seconds. If I’d stood there for just a few minutes I would probably have died on the spot because of gamma rays and neutrons and everything else that was spewing out. But Tregub yanked me around the corner to get me out the way. He was older and more experienced.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

